Government Executive Media Group on Thursday announced the inaugural members of the Government Hall of Fame, including Clara Barton, Theodore Roosevelt, Frances Perkins and the Apollo 11 astronauts.

Government Executive created the Hall of Fame this year in connection with its 50th anniversary. It honors the best of the best: those who have demonstrated sustained achievement and unparalleled dedication to public service. The Hall of Fame inductees have had an historic impact on changing government for the better, and their stories serve as an inspiration to others.

The inaugural class includes a mix of distinguished individuals from all eras since 1850—roughly the dawn of modern American government. An elite selection committee of former federal officials and public administration experts chose the 20 members of the inaugural class. Additional inductees from all eras will be added in the coming years.

More information about the Hall of Fame and the Leadership Awards

Government Executive will honor the Hall of Fame inductees at a gala event on the evening of Sept. 19 at Washington National Cathedral. The gala also will recognize the first-ever recipients of the Theodore Roosevelt Government Leadership Awards.

Learn more